Honeymoon at Belle Acres Resort

I researched secluded camp grounds in North Georgia and there I found, Belle Acres Resort, a camping resort for nudists!

Our First Experience Camping…Going Nude.

In my last post A Start to a Healthy Relationship I ended my memories with possible ideas for a honeymoon spot.  We were both married before and we were looking for a new experience, something totally different.  We both liked the idea of a mountain retreat and camping.  How could we create an exceptional memory that was unique, memories we would never forget.

I researched secluded campgrounds in North Georgia and there it was, Belle Acres Resort, a camping resort for nudist!  Ok, this piqued my curiosity.  How many people did I know could say they spent their honeymoon with nudists?  I loved the idea. However, it took a little more effort to convince my husband to forgo his clothes and enjoy the forest, naked.

We had all sorts of misconceptions of what we would find when we got there.  Would people stare, would we feel awkward or would there be unwanted attention?  None of those things happened.  I will admit it took a six-pack on the drive up ( I drove) for my husband to calm his nerves before we checked in.  We were greeted with the most gracious hospitality we could have expected.  The owners made us feel so welcome and at ease.  They were tickled that we chose their piece of heaven to spend our honeymoon.  They nick-named us the “honeymooners”.

It took me no time at all to strip my clothes and enjoy all that campgrounds had to offer.  Bill, well…he took his time.  I will never forget the image of my husband dressed only in flip-flops, a towel around his neck and a cooler in hand.  Of course, there was a six-pack of ever calming liquid hidden in that box.  We were making our way to the community pool.

This is where all our preconceived notions of what we would find became unwarranted.  We were greeted by other camp guests with warm welcomes and the utmost respect.  Never once did we feel uncomfortable in the presence of other nudists.  No one starred or gawked at us.  Holding a conversation, there was direct eye contact, no wandering over body parts, it was not what I expected.  We were both pleasantly surprised.  How many people can say they played pool naked?

If you’re wondering about the facilities,  well it was almost 18 years ago.  At that time there was a huge community pool, activity center ( with pool table), and the largest hot tub I have ever seen.  While preparing to write this post, I went back to Belle Acres Resort’s website and was pleasantly surprised that the owners have made many great upgrades to the grounds.  It looks great, makes me wanna go back and experience my memories all over again.

So would I do it again, yes?  Would I recommend others to try the nudist lifestyle, sure? Don’t be timid or shy.  It’s totally natural and invigorating. An experience I wouldn’t trade for anything in this world.

Author: L. Beard

I am a graduate of Mercer University, Bachelor of Arts, 2001, with a concentration in Sociology. I love travel, camping and the simple things in life. I'm intrigued by the human condition and all it's complexities. Some call me direct, I describe myself as a realist. My greatest gift is to have my best friend, and the love of my life by my side and along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

