Faith, the Final Frontier

Our journey started out on very rocky grounds, only with an idea.

I don’t consider myself a traditional religious person.  I consider myself, if anything, spiritual.  I call myself a tree hugger, feet planted firmly on the ground.  I lean toward the naturalistic way of living.  Our adventure back to the Deep South from Michigan has strengthen my natural faith in ways I could have not planned.

Our journey started out on very rocky ground, only with an idea.  We had no idea how we were going to accomplish such a crazy notion of selling all our belonging and finding a suitable, affordable camper to get us south.  It had been far to long since we had seen family and friends.  This was priority number one.

Besides the usual internet searching and researching, which took weeks on end, I meditated and visualized what our journey would look like as we made our way.   This was a daily activity, images and feelings of positive emotions surrounded me.  Within a months time our dreams and ideas started to become reality.  The house and pick up truck sold, we bought ‘Dotty‘.  The Sterling took a few more weeks, but it sold too.

I don’t know if you want to call it fate or faith, but it all fell into place.  Our trip of 1100 miles finished without incident.  Were we plain lucky? I think not.  The luck didn’t stop when we got to Georgia.  We were offered a place to park the camper while visiting family and friends.  Another family friend called with a potential job offer for this Fall.  We met a very kind woman who offer us to park the camper on her land while making a few dollars by helping her with home repairs.

I’ve heard it said, “events happen for a reason”.  Well something was looking out for us.  Our faith in the positive has gotten us this far.  Someone once asked, “Do we have plans for the future”? I quickly replied, “No, events just unfold, if we were to make plans, we may miss all the positive experiences that may come our way”.

 

“Once you replace negative thoughts with positive ones, you’ll start having positive results.”

— Willie Nelson

“Let us rise up and be thankful, for if we didn’t learn a lot today, at least we learned a little, and if we didn’t learn a little, at least we didn’t get sick, and if we got sick, at least we didn’t die; so let us all be thankful.”

— Buddha

 

Author: L. Beard

I am a graduate of Mercer University, Bachelor of Arts, 2001, with a concentration in Sociology. I love travel, camping and the simple things in life. I'm intrigued by the human condition and all it's complexities. Some call me direct, I describe myself as a realist. My greatest gift is to have my best friend, and the love of my life by my side and along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

