My Friend, Anxiety

You see, I have anxiety issues, I’ve had them since I was in my early 20’s…I’m always searching for tranquility.

Leaving the greater Savannah, Ga. area was a relief. Something about the city makes me uneasy, traffic, people and the noise.  I couldn’t wait to leave and find some peace and quite.  No motors, no electrical buzzing, no loud people.  I got on the “Googles”   looking for such a quiet place.  I searched for free camping site and found Barrington County Park.  The description sounded good and it was less than 45 miles south.  The hubby made a quick phone call making sure the park was still open to the public and off we went.

The closer we drove the better I felt.  You see, I have anxiety issues.  I’ve had them since I was in my early 20’s.  It seems the symptoms have gotten worse with age.  I’m always searching for tranquility.

I guess that’s why traveling in a camper sounded so good to me.  It’s a self medicating thing.  Similar to the drug user looking for their next fix, I’m looking for a secluded site to reduce my anxiety.

Well,  back to the camping thing…the butterflies in my stomach are gone and my heart has stopped racing.  I look forwarded to enjoying this site for the evening.  I took a refreshing shower with well water this evening, today was hot.  It felt great to wash my hair.  While we were at the showers, we met a camper/dweller (he was a nice enough fellow, full of information) who informed us this site is typically busy on the weekend with local young’ns who like to party.  I believe we will be leaving before then.

Have you ever noticed that your biological clock kicks in when there is no power for lights?  The sun is setting and I am getting sleepy. By the time the sun set, the crickets and frogs were in full party mode.  The park was quiet and the temperature was dropping.  I was drifting off to ‘La la’ land.

I woke to a cool morning with hot coffee made from our french press.  After looking at the day’s temperature, my hubby and I decided we needed to find somewhere to buy ice.  The worse thing in the heat is to be dehydrated.  So off we drove to the next town over, Jesup, Ga

I just hope my dear friend, anxiety, wont follow me but it seems she always does.

Author: L. Beard

I am a graduate of Mercer University, Bachelor of Arts, 2001, with a concentration in Sociology. I love travel, camping and the simple things in life. I'm intrigued by the human condition and all it's complexities. Some call me direct, I describe myself as a realist. My greatest gift is to have my best friend, and the love of my life by my side and along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

