Saying Goodbye to Big Jane

I remember many evening discussions with my husband contemplating selling our 1996 Ford 250 4×4.  Did we really need her?  She was a beast of a truck, 7.5 liters 460 engine.  Need I say terrible gas mileage but could pull a house down.  She could haul anything.  We bought her when we were living in Northern Michigan, out in the sticks.  Hauling wood was a necessity, two cords of wood at a time, no problem.  Collecting water at the local spring, no issues. Plowing through the snow in four-wheel drive, easy squeezy.  I loved her.  She was my truck. She was dependable and safe, just a gas hog.

After deciding to go back on the road in camper style, I knew we couldn’t keep her.  Oh, she could pull the biggest camper we could afford, but she would run us broke keeping her in fuel.   We had to look for a motorhome that would do the job.

When we decided to put her up for sale, we really didn’t try very hard, a couple of adds here and there on Facebook was about it.  We never even put a ‘For Sale’ sign in the window.  She sold none the less.

I don’t believe in coincidences, I have always believed events happen for a reason.  Selling of Big Jane was one of those events.  The day she was sold, my husband and I decided to try to sell an antique dresser at a local dealer.  The dresser sold and the delivery man can and picked it up.  He was a nice, young fella who wanted to know our story so we told him the plan.  Big Jane came up in the conversation and “Bingo” he had a friend who he knew would be interested in the truck.  Later that evening he came back with his friend and sealed the deal.  Not much effort on our part, just honest conversation and a positive outlook on our plan.

It was hard seeing her being driven away but I knew she was in good hands. A new owner who had great plans for her.  Thanks Tony for the sale and hope you have many good years and memories from our, “Big Jane”.

Author: L. Beard

I am a graduate of Mercer University, Bachelor of Arts, 2001, with a concentration in Sociology. I love travel, camping and the simple things in life. I'm intrigued by the human condition and all it's complexities. Some call me direct, I describe myself as a realist. My greatest gift is to have my best friend, and the love of my life by my side and along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

